Hi – I think we caught up with each other in a support ticket. Here was my response there:
Good question – there is no way to hide categories you no longer want to use. If you try to delete a category that was used for any transaction, you’ll be prompted to reassign those transactions to a new category. Yes, you’d lose the history, but how often do you go back and check historically. If you have a new categorization strategy, the reassignment will probably work well in case you want to look back and compare to your new plan.